Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Moustache Man
      • Topics: 11
      • Replies: 24
      @benjaminsmith
      Essex
      GV125 2016

Been starting to notice this whilst the bike has been idling, and whilst waiting at traffic lights.

I understand that these bikes do not have the “iconic” V-twin sound, but you can easily distinguish between a single and a twin.

Whilst the bike is at low RPM, it sounds like it is only running on one cylinder. I don’t know what could cause this, blocked carbs? Sooty plugs? Low power from the battery? Is this a common fault?

The second I pull away, it chugs and jerks a bit, then I can hear the second cylinder fire up and it runs smooth again. Another reason to add to my list of “love-hate” things about my bike haha. I don’t want a new relationship, I want a long-term marriage, with little commitment or effort required!!

Would anyone know any easy ways to fix this? I’m no mechanical genius, but I have a decent knowledge and some handy tools.

Tom
      • Topics: 9
      • Replies: 49
      @kernow
      Cornwall
      GV125

I am no expert either but I would check these. Because bad cylinder fires up when you increase throttle I would not think it is piston or rings.  But I would check compression anyway. My gut says fuel or spark.

Pull sparks and look at colour and put new ones in.

See if you have spark on the bad cylinder by removing both and grounding tips against engine (bare metal) and turning over engine.

I would also check battery voltage when engine off (12.4v ish) and then check voltage with engine at high idle 1800rpm (14v +). Might not have enough electrical juice at idle, but spark test will show that.

If you have no spark then test coils. An easy check just swap them over (literally swap them not just leads to spark plug) and see if fault follows coil. If it does it could just be the lead or cap You can often solve that by removing cap from lead, chopping a 1cm off lead and replacing cap on lead.